WE SHIP ACROSS GLOBE. Free Delivery in India above Rs 1000.

Dwarka Shila | Chakra Shila - An auspicious stone

Dwarka Shila | Chakra Shila - An auspicious stone

Tired of surfing internet to know about mysterious Dwarka Shila...... WELLLLL KUDOS!!! to you. You have reached the perfect place...... Put your glasses ON......

The Dvararvati Shila or Chakra Shila is a type of  shila or coral stone obtained from the Gomati river, Dwarka..  Dwarka was called Dvarawati and was listed as one of the seven pre-historic cities in the country. Thus, the shila or the stone obtained at the mouth of the Gomati river is called the Dvaravati Shila and is used in worship. Dwaarka Shila  are coral with chakra (wheel) markings and the chakra-mark is the most distinguishing feature of these stones, and hence they are called ‘chakrankita-shila’.

Aniconic representation of God is by a symbol rather than an image. Indian art overwhelmingly prefers the iconic image, but some aniconism does occur in folk worship, in early Hinduism in the form of Vishnu's Saligrama, Dvaravati shila, Govardhana Shila etc. They have solar significance, and their use in worship is very common among all sects of Vaishnavites of hindu religion. The Hindu scriptures prescribe that stones obtained from Dwarka only for worship even though geologically it may be found in other places too.

There are several schools of thought among the learned acharyas of the Vaishnava sect on the worship of this shila. This Shila is worshipped, along with or independent of Shila or Saligrama Shila. It is worshipped along with the  Saligrama Shila since scriptures consider it auspicious to do so.

According to Skanda Purana wherever Dwarka Shila is placed in front of the Saligrama Shila, every class of magnificence goes on increasing unlimitedly. Skanda Purana also says that one who daily worships Dwarka Shila along with twelve Saligrama Shilas will be honored even in Vaikuntha.

These Shilas also have distinct personalities like the Saligrama Shila that are identified by their size, colure, texture markings. These are explained below.

  • Sudarshana: one chakra - salvation
  • Lakshmi-Narayana: two chakras- salvation
  • Trivikrama: three chakras - freedom from the fear of births and deaths
  • Janardana: four chakras - fulfillment of desires
  • Vasudeva: five chakras - obtainment of prosperity and elimination of enemies
  • Pradyumna: six chakras - wealth and lustre
  • Baladeva: seven chakras - continuation of progeny and celebrity
  • Purushottama: eight chakras - satisfaction of all that one aspires for
  • Navavyuha (the collection of nine forms of Vishnu): nine chakras - rewards, which are difficult, even for the gods to obtain
  • Dashmurti (the ten incarnations of Vishnu): ten chakras - sovereignty and prosperity
  • Aniruddha: eleven chakras – lordship
  • Dvadasatmaka: twelve chakras - final emancipation
  • Ananta: more than twelve chakras - fulfills one’s desires (only even numbered chakras are to be preferred)

The colour and the shape of the shila is said to give following effects.

  • White stones are considered most suitable for worship and will make for a worldly prosperity in all aspects and spiritual welfare..  TRULY SAID White covers a multitude of sins...........
  • Dark (blue-black) stones forebode death
  • Tawny ones cause anxiety
  • Multi-coloured ones bring about disease and sorrow
  • Yellow ones take away wealth
  • Smoke coloured ones produce loss of wealth
  • Blue stones will bring about obstacles to any undertaking 


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published